Cultural heritage, CULTURAL HERITAGE
In rainy weather
The village of Duran was part of the possessions of the Lord of Roquelaure and then of the Marquis de Mirabeau until 1765, when Dominique Sentez, bourgeois of Auch, acquired it and became Lord of Duran.
The Church is dedicated to Saint Luke of Syracuse. Burned and then remodeled, it has a square bell tower restored in 1984. Behind the main altar is a XNUMXth century altarpiece depicting the martyrdom of Saint Luce, a work signed by Fleury, recently renovated. In the south chapel, an altar and tabernacle in gilded painted wood from the XNUMXth century and a pietà from the XNUMXth century.
To discover in Duran:
- The church and the chapel have listed furniture and an exceptional painted altarpiece
- Private castle
- Old farms
- Disused railway tunnel
Village of the Country of Art and History of Grand Auch, guided tours are offered by guide-lecturers (all year round for groups by reservation, according to a calendar for individuals). All dates and practical information are available from the Grand Auch tourist office.